Anticipating Nowhere #37

Updated: Sep 19, 2020

Hello and welcome to Anticipating Nowhere #37.

We start the show with Andrew Haines and a track called Full Moon @ The Shaman’s Oak which was included on Volume 2 of the excellent Front and Follow ISOLATION AND REJECTION compilations. Volume 3 was released the other day but I have not had time to listen to it just yet but based on the quality of the first two you can be certain I will be featuring tracks from that one too.

The Central Office of Information provide a stunning track of bleeping, swishing, psychedelic electronics taken from the forthcoming Strange Selectors compilation. This is being released on Werra Foxma Records on 28th September and is something I am incredibly proud to be a part of – I have contributed an exclusive track called Leafcutter. All profits from the sale of this album will be donated to MSF UK / Médecins Sans Frontières.

Philippe Petit sends us squiggling, huffing and puffing anxiously until we become a living, breathing swathe of feedback before melting into Steven Moore‘s Third Bench. Field recordings, the crackle and pop of static and bell/bell-like tones. Gorgeous.

Next up we enter the delightfully wonky yet totally wonderful world of Darren Giddings, aka Darrg, with a track from 1993 called, delightfully, You Pig. Following that we have the clattering then delightfully uplifting downtempo electronica of Dark Fidelity Hi Fi. Proper, invigorating, brain bath stuff this that leads into the equally fabulous Pulselovers with Silver Bridge. This is the second track in this mix taken from the aforementioned Strange Selectors album and if these two tracks alone don’t persuade you to buy it I don’t know what will!

Natalia Beylis provides a delightful piano interlude where the gorgeous playing is further enhanced by the sustain and reverb which produce a mesmeric droning accompaniment which takes you into a dreamlike realm. We are awoken to the hiss, creak, thrum and ‘pluck’ of our newly found world courtesy of Rovallesca, otherwise known as Craig Johnson of the inestimable Invisible City Records label

Expose Your Eyes (aka Paul Harrison, very much a new favourite of mine) give us darker, fuzzier, deeper, dronier electronics and it sounds soooooo good I find myself getting lost in his sounds time and time again. Something primal, raw and utterly compelling. Another of Paul’s projects (in partnership with Chandor Glöomy) having the same effect on me is Hair’s Abyss (not featured in this show). I have previously played tracks from both of these on previous shows and thoroughly recommend further listening. No, I insist you do so.

Chuck W gives us a slice of elcectronic fuzz-punk with what sounds like the clattering of pots and pipes, underpinned by that incessant fuzz-drone driving it along. Howl in the Typewriter offer us the equally brilliant and funny electronic noise, wobbles and an excellent sample fans of The Office will recognise until we get sucked in to the hypnotic drone of SVR.

The final three tracks of this mix take in the sound art of Marlo Eggplant. Voice, snooker balls and other unidentifiable (to me) yet wonderful sounds. Forrest Friends. Bassy, groaning, distortion leads to discordant guitar and Machinefabrik with a track taken from the compilation album Experimental music – Benefit album for Black Lives Matter.

Enjoy the mix.

Nam Myoho Renge Kyo

Full tracklist:

Artist – Track – Album

  1. Andrew Haines – Full Moon @ The Shaman’s Oak – ISOLATION AND REJECTION VOL 2

  2. The Central Office of Information – The Walls Are Dripping With Dark Shadows – Various Artists – Strange Selectors

  3. Philippe Petit – Photic Ill-uminescence – Deep-sea Creatures

  4. Stephan Moore – Third Bench – Dreamwalk with Solo Voice

  5. Darrg – You Pig (1993) – What is Darrg’s Problem

  6. Dark Fidelity Hi Fi – Rescue Me – Machine Blossoms (bc056)

  7. Pulselovers – Silver Bridge – Various Artists – Strange Selectors

  8. Natalia Beylis – Lonesome, The Lighthouse – Old Little Crooked Houses (A Collection of Compilation Tracks)

  9. Rovellasca – Breath Of Memory – Delirium, Or Sonata

  10. Expose Your Eyes – SIMYN WLG HERD – Z=z²+C

  11. Chuck W. – Twisting Up My Guts – HMDBC II

  12. Howl In The Typewriter – Word Of Warning – C O M A †‡† K U L T U R – R E C O G N I T I O N S O U R C E

  13. SVR – A Promise – Decaying Spheres

  14. Marlo Eggplant – Combs – Selected Aphelion Works Vol. I & II

  15. Forrest Friends – side A – (untitled)

  16. Machinefabriek – ‘Hikari’ – Experimental music – Benefit album for Black Lives Matter

As always, please support these artists and labels in any way you can, links to all tracks in the show are below.

Peace : Respect : Compassion


Anticipating Nowhere #37

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All